The Other Is You

The Other Is You : The Rainforest #49 (Helioscope Mix)
01 Charles Murdoch – Straws [Future Classic]
02 Jamie xx – The Rest Is Noise [Young Turks]
03 Archie Pelago – Clammy Customer [Mister Saturday Night]
04 Four Tet – Morning Side [Text]
05 Trifonic – Santa Rosa [Trifonic]
06 Plaid – Tender Hooks [Warp]
07 This Mortal Coil vs. Massive Attack – Song To The Teardrop (Audioglider Mix)
08 Yadayn – Kerk [eilean]
09 Blueneck – Symbiosis, Pt. 2 [denovali]
10 Francesco Berta feat. Anne van den Hoogen – Waves (Jasper van den Hoogen Remix)
11 Ben Chatwin – Darwinism [Village Green]
12 Helios – Mima [Unseen]
13 Koda – The Warmth [Halfway House]
14 Leandro Fresco – Los Años Que Vivimos En Peligro [Kompakt]

Images by:

New Soul 14

The annual ‘Helioscope Autumn’ compilation, better known as ‘New Soul’, starts off its third year with a lot more material included than ever before. ‘New Soul 14’ comprises three CD-length mixes covering different styles of music similar to the atmospheric, deep, warm and lush vibes of its predecessors.

Download includes cover images, cue files and 320kbps mixes in mp3 format.

Forest Shades (CD 1)
A slow, eclectic tribute mix to Hernan Cattaneo’s famous 105BPM style. Creating a one-of-a-kind listening experience are artists like David August with his recent Innervisions + Diynamic outputs, Deepfunk with his brand new LP, John Monkman teaming up with Liz Cass for ‘Open Frontier’ on Anjunadeep, Dutch newcomer Battage with ‘Ouvrant’ as well as Helioscope mainstay Max Cooper whose ‘Woven Ancestry’ has recently been taken on by Lusine.
New Soul 14 - Cover (heikogerlicher)01 Ali Khan – Lake
02 Tom Glass – Vertigo
03 Deepfunk – Freud And The Oceanic Feeling
04 Lord Of The Isles – Gigha
05 Chymera – Fathoms (Esteble Dive Deep Remix feat. BeatuniQue On Hang)
06 NuFects – A Machine Called NuFects
07 Stimming – Der Schmelz (David August Revision)
08 David August – Epikur
09 Ramon Tapia & Stavroz – Havana (Downtempo Mix)
10 Ryan Davis – When Rain Drops Soft
11 John Monkman feat. Liz Cass – Open Frontier
12 Deepfunk – A Happy Tale
13 Battage – Ouvrant
14 David Prap & Willy Real – Hope
15 Max Cooper – Woven Ancestry (Lusine Remix)

Ocean Depths (CD 2)
A far more uplifting approach reminiscent of the classic prog trance sound of the early 00s, fabricated by luminaries of the scene like Guy J, Tone Depth, Yunus, Weepee and Monojoke. Rounding up this high energy 80-minute journey are Silinder’s bootleg of ‘Damage Done’ by Moderat, Matt Lange’s orchestral record ‘Staccato’ and the magnificent ‘Chasing The Moon’ taken from Kobana’s ‘The Riddle’ LP serving as one of the best outros for a Helioscope set.
New Soul 14 - Cover CD2 (Wicasa-stock)01 Jokers Of The Scene – Kanada Goose
02 Odd Parents – Learn To Fly (Maceo’s Flight Home)
03 Superpitcher – Delta
04 WhoMadeWho – Heads Above (Maceo Plex Remix)
05 Moderat – Damage Done (Silinder Remix)
06 Guy J – Dizzy Moments
07 Matt Lange – Staccato
08 Yunus – Meeting Molly
09 Greg Pidcock – Connected People (Tone Depth’s Doctor Prescribed Remix)
10 Guy Gerber & Dixon – No Distance
11 Alan Fitzpatrick – For Fear Tonight Is All
12 Weepee – Slow
13 Jelly For The Babies – Imagination Code (Monojoke Remix)
14 Kobana – Chasing The Moon

Mountain Heights (CD 3)
Modern house with ambient & shoegaze elements is the main element of ‘Mountain Heights’, the final disc of ‘New Soul 14’. Lane 8, North Lake, Cubicolor & Of Norway are part of this mix which feels like a deep breath of fresh air. Santiago Garcia’s remix of ‘Voices From The Past’, Chopstick & Johnjon’s ‘Run Slowly’ and Tycho’s double-track intro are this mix’s highlights. Winding it down are ‘Hang zur Sonne’ by Heckhausen and the ethereal outro ‘Factory Reset’.
New Soul 14 - Cover CD3 (scotto)01 Tycho – Spectre (Bibio Remix)
02 Tycho – Elegy
03 Chopstick & Johnjon – Run Slowly
04 Above & Beyond feat. Alex Vargas – Sticky Fingers (Lane 8 Remix)
05 Nils Hoffmann – Balloons (Martin Roth Remix)
06 High Heels Breaker feat. Sarah Palin – Come Easy (David August Remix)
07 Khen – Voices From The Past (Santiago Garcia Remix)
08 Chasing Kurt – From The Inside (Konstantin Sibold Remix)
09 Eelke Kleijn – Lovely Sweet Divine
10 Cubicolor – Next Planet
11 Choir Of Young Believers – Hollow Talk (Jody Wisternoff, James Grant & Lane 8 Remix)
12 DJ Tennis – Anatomy (North Lake Remix)
13 Of Norway – Love Is Over
14 Paul David Heckhausen feat. Jaron Tripp – Hang zur Sonne
15 Wired To Follow – Factory Reset