Helioscope Awards 2016 : Ambient / Modern Classical

Awarding my personal favourites from the genre spectrum of ambient, modern classical, drone and chillout (mostly covered by Planetarium) in five categories.
Highlighted in bold is the winner, the remaining ones are ranked by their importance to me personally.

> Best Track

In comparison to the other genres, the list for this award became incredibly long, but I felt this was the essential selection of tracks which should not be missed by any fan of this music.

Alexander Arnold – Lake Bell
Arovane & Hior Chronik – After Tomorrow (AMX) [astrangelyisolatedplace]
Twincities – Good Black Spring [dauw]
Lav & Purl – The Present Moment (Still Version) [Eternell]
Strie – 87 Billion Suns [Serein]
drombeg – Tumulus [Futuresequence]
Slow Clinic – I Miss Everyone [Archives]
Petrels – A Little Dust [denovali]
Jóhann Jóhannsson – Kangaru [Deutsche Grammophon]
nonkeen – re:turn! [R&S]
Eluvium – Strangeworks [Temporary Residence]
AEONN – Initiate
SineRider – To Care When No One Else Does [Silk]
Jason van Wyk – Coherence [eilean]
Purl – Sagan (Warmth’s Place of Peace) [Eternell]
Ruhe – Heritage
Porya Hatami & Arovane – uun [Time Released Sound]
Glacis – 23 March [Facture]
Otto A Totland – Storfjord [Serein]
Nil Ciuró – Magnetic [1631]
i.yugen – Light a Lamp [Dewtone]
The Green Kingdom – Haze Layers [dronarivm]
Hotel Neon – Chains [Facture]
Jason van Wyk – Stay [eilean]
Wil Bolton – Dot to Dot [eilean]
Solo Andata – Porcelain Blue [12k]
Robert Farrugia – Encoder [Archives]
Slow Meadow – Some Familiar… [Hammock]
Ólafur Arnalds – Öldurót [Mercury Classics]
Marihiko Hara & Polar M – On the Silent Way [mü-nest]
Kirill Nikolai – Reconstructions, For Lack of Anything Else [Facture]
Willamette – Four Films (Films Four) [Scissor Tail]
Lav & Purl – Gateway to Ecstasy [AMONE]
Nomad – Autumn Warmth

> Best Artist

Olan Mill
Slow Meadow
Adam Bryanbaum Wiltzie
Jóhann Jóhannsson
Wil Bolton
Jason van Wyk
Chihei Hatakeyama

> Most Promising Newcomer

Nil Ciuró
Marihiko Hara & Polar M

> Best Release

Jason van Wyk – Attachment [eilean]
Dead Light – Dead Light [Village Green]
Marihiko Hara & Polar M – Dance [mü-nest]
Hotel Neon – Remnants [Facture]
SineRider – Twilight [Silk]
drombeg – Earthworks [Futuresequence]
Ed Carlsen – The Journey Tapes [Moderna]
Wil Bolton – February Dawn [eilean]
Danny Clay – Stills [IIKKI]
Will Samson – Lua [12k]
Twincities – …plays the brown mountain lights [dauw]
Alex Smalley – JAN SBR 15 [Rural Colours]
Tim Linghaus – Vhoir [Moderna]

> Best Label

eilean Rec.
Rural Colours
Erased Tapes
Hawk Moon Records

Image by : http://juliamstarr.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.